Experiments with light capture the shortest of moments

News 4 October 2023

We warmly congratulate Pierre Agostini (Ohio State University, USA), Ferenc Krausz (Garching/Munich, DE) and Anne L'Hullier (Lund University, SE) with winning the 2023 Nobel Prize in Physics. The three Nobel Laureates in Physics 2023 are being recognised for their experiments, which have given humanity new tools for exploring the world of electrons inside atoms and molecules. Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L’Huillier have demonstrated a way to create extremely short pulses of light that can be used to measure the rapid processes in which electrons move or change energy.

We are very honored and feel very privileged that we could collaborate so closely during the last 5 years with PhD students and Postdocs in Lund and OSU (and with many other groups in the Attosecond Physics community) to help improve the experimental technology for the generation of Attosecond Light pulses. 

We, the people behind the scenes at R&D and manufacturing of the Amsterdam Piezovalve systems, are very proud of the accomplishments of Pierre Agostini, Ferenc Krausz and Anne L'Hullier in the field of Attosecond Science and Technology and their recognition by the Physics Nobel prize 2023.

For more information of how our product Amsterdam Piezo Valve is involved in the research on Attosecond Science and the generation of these ultrafast lightpulses by HighHarmonicGeneration, visit our product webportal: www.amsterdampiezovalve.com .

Further info on the laureates and their research can be found at the Nobel Prize Organization:  www.nobelprize.org/prizes/physics/2023/summary/

Nature: www.nature.com/articles/d41586-023-03047-w Science: www.science.org/content/article/ultrafast-light-experiments-win-physics-nobel